Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The American Classics

Our afternoon walks at the end of sunny days, school and therapies that take us all over LA all done and dusted, boys spilling out of the Radio Flyer Wagon, past gardens and corner plots exploding with wild flowers and dandelions gone to seed. I can forget I live in such an urban scape.

On one such corner, there's a marvellous collection of classic cars, Buicks and Chevys, a kaleidoscope of colours, Reuben signing each of their colours in turn. Funny, the Hicksville shirts were unintentional, a nice fluke, three primary colours, the hard steel carcasses as counterpoint to Reuben's luxurious soft curls and Callum's singular kiss curl and his "S" brow.

I love how the Flyer has whipped away the boys legs. I'm reminded of a magician's trick.

Today is the end of term, the Easter holidays or "Spring break" if I'm to stay with the American theme. Upon our return, it's the short countdown to Reuben graduating from UCLA. Yesterday I received the news that his services, OT, PT, speech, you name it, will be discontinued at age 3 because he didn't tick the right boxes. He may have undergone 11 surgeries and be deemed to be followed by 13 Drs and 4 therapists, but hey, that's by the by. Because he's 3 he doesn't need that level of care anymore and we'll stop everything that he knows beyond us. Wow. Thanks Arnie for b' up the budget. As if we don't have enough battles to fight. But fighting I am in an appeal.

Thanks everyone for your kind comments yesterday. The magic moments come when you least expect.



I changed out 20th 'cos that's the kinda girl I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.