Margoyles

By mar

The other teams could make trouble for us ...

The other teams could make trouble for us if they win.
~Yogi Berra

Remember a week or so ago when I mentioned that Charlotte was choosen to represent her school in track and field? Well it turns out it was actually a day of cricket, rounders and tennis. As I had to go into school for the Uni interview (all went well), Michael managed to leave early to come with me to watch Charlotte this afternoon. I very glad he did as I doubt he would have believed how, er, airy my kid really is. She doesn't have a competitive bone in her body, which is great ... but not on days like these. It was an event that saw 16 different schools in Shropshire meet at a Secondary school to play friendly, but a bit competitive, games. Did I mentioned it was raining? And Charlotte decided her new white sneakers matching her jogging outfit was more important then little things like traction?

The first small little issue was that Charlotte didn't know how to play rounders. Nor cricket. And only a wee bit of tennis. Does that bother her? Of course not! But it did seem to annoy the other teams (albeit not her own team mates, who seemed to be sort of used to Charlotte's laid back attitude).

Michael and I, ever so supportive, at first tried to give her tips and advice. Then when the parents on the opposing teams started to give advice also (seriously as she was that awkward), we just said 'Still, at least she's academic and good at art.'

One major thing Charlotte had was speed - and everyone noticed that. Unfortunately, apparently with cricket you should only go as fast as your partner ... a concept (one of many) that we needed to continuing explain to Charlotte - who clearly didn't care about rules and regulations as 'Dad, I'm never going to play this game again, I really don't care.'

Overall, we had a hilarious day. We love the fact that Charlotte, quite frankly, doesn't give a damn what others think. Her goal was to have fun and a laugh and she did.

And believe it or not (even we didn't believe it), they actually won a few games and two members of our school's team won Sportsmanship awards for great attitude (one was partnered with Charlotte for Tennis ... I'm just saying).

Of course it all ended with a McDonalds and a trip to the shops for new clothes ...

I couldn't decide on what photo to use as I really liked this one of the target on the wall. There are more pictures here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.