Shutter Trolle

By ShutterTrolle

Helicopter Blur

Lately I have been experimenting with bringing motion into my photography. Today there was alot of motion all around - strong winds, blowing flags, large waves - every branch and plant in sight was moving! Not quite the type of motion I am trying to capture. I followed a helicopter to a landing pad on the waterfront and started experimenting at capturing the body of the helicopter in sharp detail while blurring the blades. I was able to practice successfully while the copter was on the pad warming up and was hoping that he would take off slowly and maybe hover so I didn't have to worry about additional vertical or horizontal motion. I didn't get the hover time that I wanted, but he did take off slowly enough that I was able to get some good shots. I will need to experiment more to increase the blur on the blades without losing the body of the copter.

A good days experimenting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.