Raubrey

By raubrey

Eagle Owl

Today we were lucky enough to go to Warwick Castle for a Falconry Experience which was a birthday present from my mum-in-law.

My birthday was back in September, but I wanted to wait until it was Spring and when all the birds of prey would be available in the experience after making their way down from their winter home at The Hawk Experience in North Yorkshire.

We handled many of the birds who were active such as Harris Hawk, Chilean Eagle, Golden Eagle and this chap, the Eagle Owl.

The falcons and hawks were amazing and I would recommend the experience to any bird lover, though I do have a real affection for the one owl who is used in falconry displays. He would be in a tree maybe 80 yards away and it was simply breathtaking to watch the majesty of the bird swooping and gliding onto your gloved hand.

Here he is post-landing, enjoying a titbit which you can actually see disappearing down his throat.

This is certainly not the best photograph I took, as some are crisper and perhaps better composition, but this is my wife's favourite picture of our favourite bird at Warwick Castle.

I guess this one would be best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.