Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Graffiti

Grey skies all day, and a forecast of rain, reinforced the need to get out early. But I dillied and dallied, another Olympic event where I would win at least silver, and it was beginning to spot with rain as I set out in the car.

Thankfully the rain didn't really amount to much but I did not tarry in case the heavens did open. Florida rain can be the equivalent of someone turning on a tap, or faucet as they say in the USA.

I decided to give the Leica D-Lux 3 an airing after several weeks of neglect. I had a particular shot in mind where the 28mm capability of the D-Lux 3 would be needed. Sadly, that shot fell by the wayside because someone had parked their vehicle in such a way that it intruded into the composition I had in mind.

I walked on a bit and came across this piece of graffiti on a retaining wall of Interstate 10. My first thought was to poke the lens of the camera through the chainlink fence but, looking at the LCD, I quite liked the way the fence framed the graffiti, or should that be graffito?

The significance of "Withes" is beyond my comprehension. I suppose it could be the name of the artist.

I was also intrigued as to whether the chainlink fence was erected after this wall became the target for the urban artists. Or did the artist scale the fence to bring this creation to the world. Who knows?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.