Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Out on the field

While I was at work, the girls were having fun at home and at school. After Martine had taken Nienke to her streetdance class, Inge wanted to go to her grandparents (Martine's parents): grandpa Reender and grandma Zwaan.

Grandpa Reender has a patch of land for the horses that needed fertilizing. He was getting his tractor out and for the first time Inge dared to go onto the tractor. She was so proud as they drove off to the field. Grandpa explained some things along the way and when they returned her story was: "We put the white grains all over the field. They are dandelion seeds. Now the grass will grow higher and higher and dandelions will grow too for the horses to eat*."

I was in the office when all of this happened so thank you Zwaan for taking this picture and allowing me to use it! And thank you Inge for pointing out that I should definitely use this for my blip. How could I deny a request like that?

* The Dutch word for dandelion translated literally is "horse flower". So from horses to dandelions to fertilizer is really not that far-fetched if you're a 3-year old Dutch girl...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.