La Palma, Canary Islands

By mojorojo

Through the rocky window

I seem to be having a love affair with the GR130. It is the ancient walking route which goes right round the island of La Palma in the Canary Islands ? approx 200 km and a lot of it simple donkey tracks. Some people, I say some people which does not denote me, do it in seven days. That is pretty good going because it isn't like your normal walk. I call it the Palmathon. In fact the north, where this photo is taken, is the toughest part as you traverse ravine after ravine, up and down 400 or 500 metres at a time.
Oh but the views are just so worth it.
This photo was taken between Gallegos and Franceses as me and long-suffering were on a training walk. Yes ... more to come ... and I just can't wait. Not that we haven't done this particular walk before and in fact the little hamlet you can see through the rocky window is just below where I live!

Sometimes, it does you good to see things from a different viewpoint though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.