La Palma, Canary Islands

By mojorojo

Going home

Today, we walked another section of the GR 130 around La Palma. It was great - through tall pine forests, flower filled donkey paths and along a rocky river bed (without the river, I hasten to add). A complete contrast to our last walk above the coast.

But on the drive home, I had to stop to take this photo which is looking up to the Roque de Muchachos, the highest point of the island, at 2426 metres above sea level. It is only 20 minutes from home and I am never failed to be bowled over by the sight. It reminds me of Bavaria - not that I have ever been to Bavaria!

The little white blips you can just see on the ridge of the mountains are the observatories - they are the most important in the Northern Hemisphere. And not a lot of people know that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.