Emily L. J. Boyd

By eljb

Fell

While most of the North East of Scotland is once again getting battered by snow, Blairgowrie is getting off somewhat lightly. If you can call gale force winds hurtling around us light.

So, there have been two bits of garden destruction for us. Our neighbours fence has fallen into our garden, fortunately our wire fence propped it up and one of the big conifers in the garden either last night or this morning crashed into the right of way that's next to our house. This wouldn't have been too much of a problem if they hadn't built houses on the other side a few years back, meaning that instead of falling over Coffin Way and into an empty field, it fell on the opposing fence. Luckily there wasn't any damage, and just as mum, dad and I went out brandishing saws to cut it down, some wonderful men from the council came up the path saying they were there to clear it away!

Thank God! I can't imagine having to move the 20ft+ monster with my little sister while my parents went back to work. I'm handy with a saw, but it really was a beast! And this blip is of it after the guys had started chopping it up a bit!

The winds haven't died down much, so here's hoping there isn't too much more destruction - I think now I'd have preferred snow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.