This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

New Dawn Fades

This is April.

It is 6:29 a.m. I am sitting in the dark in front of the glow of my computer, windows are in front of me. I watch the sky turn silver and into blue above the edge of the abandoned neighbor's roof top.

The birds were my alarm clock- not that I need one, but their spring birdsong was the first thing I heard. I grabbed my camera and walked outside onto the cool pavement and into the middle of my street. I took this photo, now I am writing these words.

Tonight is First Thursday Art walk in my town at the studio where I work. So there is last minute preparation for that. Anywhere from 200- 500 people and perhaps more, will filter in through the 4 galleries and our 15 working artists studios. There will be many conversations and smiles, and I will be a cheerleader for the organization. I have 4 different paintings hanging in the back Vault again this month. It would be really helpful and inspiring to sell a painting. Things have been quite slow for quite a while. I don't know if people think artists are independently wealthy, or if they just don't understand the art or how to buy art. I know everyone is hurting. Anyway- it just gets frustrating. I love my job, but it is a hard one. I mean I am not complaining. Well maybe I am. (just a little)

The birds are getting louder. The sky is fading even lighter. I have listened to New Dawn Fades for the third time while writing this. It will be sunny again and very warm again today. I will hang some lights, and put some more labels on my paintings in my studio. I will hope for the best.

Something has changed here.

a chance to watch...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.