Last day

It was the last day in more ways than one today and the first day for that matter. It was the last day of work before the holidays and the first day of my permanent contract for me.

It was a bigger milestone for my dad though. It was the last day he'd see all his workmates and the first day of his early retirement. He worked at the council and they offered him early retirement as part of his cost cutting. Given that he'd been thinking of going when he turned 60 next year it was an offer too good to refuse.

We're meeting up with my dad and Anne along with various other people to go out for a meal to celebrate on Tuesday but this was his work sending off for him and the three other colleagues who took early retirement. Shame I couldn't drink as I'm still on the antibiotics though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.