Rodents rule

By squirk

Unexpected figures in Hatton Garden

A dreich day in London, and it was difficult to drag myself away from my desk at lunchtime to have a much-needed walk. I ended up in Hatton Garden. These two figures caught my eye - they look like they should be porcelain figures at The Antiques Roadshow, not perched on an office building in Hatton Garden. The building had a helpful plaque:

'Reputed to be from designs by Sir Christopher Wren, this building was erected as a church, then adapted for use as a charity school about 1696. It was severely damaged by incendiary bombs during hte second world war. The figures of scholars in 18th-century costume were taken down and sent for safe-keeping during the war, then replaced in their original position as a memorial of the former use of the building.'

Well, I learned something new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.