Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Favourite beach

Ok, this isn't actually my favourite beach, although you probably spotted that. It is a print of my favourite beach bought th elast time we were up there though.

The beach itself is Balnakiel Bay just outside durness. The print was bought from the Printmakers Gallery at Balnakield craft village. There are a lot of fantastic beaches on the north west coast and I really like several of them. Achnahaird, Achmelvich, Oldshoremore and Polin are all really nice beaches, not forgetting Sandwood Bay too, which has an almost magical quality to it on the right sort of day. For myself and Roz however this one pips it. It's about two miles of almost unspoiled beach on the way along Farraidh Head. The water is really shallow and clear, it's on a nice safe bay which is good for swimming in an dit has the most amazing sand dunes. They also found a Viking burial there a few years back, the remains of which are now housed in the National Museum of Scotland.

I think I'm correct in saying that a few blippers have been there too. I'm sure they'll agree with me that it's a fantastic place.

Balnakield craft village is also the home of Cocoa Mountain which I know a few blippers have been to. If any Edinburgh based paople are interested in sampling their wares I know that they have a stall at the forthcoming Foodies festival event. I wouldn't go otherwise, but it's probably worth it to sample their white chocolate, chilli and lemongrass truffles again.

Edit: For any of you that have been there this is looking back towards the Balnakiel graveyard from the far end of the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.