Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Just about where things started going wrong....

Worst day ever, though it started out like any other day.

Doing errands in the centro I saw Ryan out on the bicycle and we grabbed an ice cream together in Parque Calderon underneath the grand cathedral. It was a lovely day. The sun was shining, music playing, and Sunday mass just leaving the church. I couldn´t help snapping a shot of Barney the giant purple dinasour blowing bubbles. I mean who can´t smile at the funnyness of that?

But thats just about where everything started going wroing. Chatting with Ryan on the bench I must have let my guard down just enough for some creep on the far side of the wrap around bench to craftily unzip my bag and make off with my laptop just beside me. Bold.

I didn´t discover until later when I went into a cafe to send some messages and it was gone, gone, gone. And boy did I feel like a fool. There is something about being robbed, especially in the cowardly theivery sort of way that just makes you feel violated. Beyond that though the worst part is I lost all my photos from this semester. I backed up most everything before I came here, I can buy a new laptop, but all the photos and adventures from this semester are gone now, and maybe a little bit of my pride and dignity too.

Huge bummmer of a day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.