Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Intendencia General de Policia del Azuay

Seth and I dropped the students off at Teresa´s for their last Tropical Ecology classes this morning and then headed into the center to run errands and file a police report.

As Seth put it ¨You might get your laptop back....if the police miraculously make a bust and retrieve, it decide not to keep it for themselves and actually track you down to return it¨. Right.

Fat chance on any return but if I file a report and get a copy maybe I can get some insurance help for it....though I don´t think I even have travelers insurance? Anyways, I navigated through the Ecuadorian legal bureacracy that goes along with such things. Hung out with a friendly lawyer across the street who wrote down everything, signed it and sent me back across to the intendencia general. Then I went upstairs to the desk of an old white haired man who put a stamp on it and simply said, ¨segue no mas¨. The local dicho, the local saying everywhere in Ecuador.

And there you have it folks. The justice system in action. I can´t help but chuckle a bit at the humor and absurdity of it, but maybe he was right. Segue no mas, don´t worry about it anymore...

Moving on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.