Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Timing is Everything

It was blowing 25-30 mph, gusting to 50 -- a good day to blip kite surfers. I'd seen them out in the bay before, but didn't know where to go to get close enough for photos. I called my paragliding, hangliding, and kitesurfing friend, Roger. He's a busy doctor, so I didn't think I had much chance of reaching him, but he answered his cell phone on the first ring. He was in between patients -- good timing!

Roger gave me directions to a beach just north of town, where he assured me I'd find lots of surfers. I drove out there, parked the car, and followed a short trail to the beach, where I found my surfers packing up their gear. The tide was too low -- timing not so good!

Now I know where to go next time it's windy. I'll check the tide tables first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.