random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Hypermarket

This is the local department store, as it says on the sign. It only appears to have one dark department. Like the village store it has a counter and you have to ask for what you want, the only difference being that the counter is the exterior wall of the shop. So you are outside and the shop assistants are inside.

Remembered the security incident on Thursday. I need to submit a form to the mgrs back home to get them to commission some penetration testing from the techies here in India. They basically try to hack the system and check the access control. So they need some details to tell them what to try and break into. Problem is, no one is allowed to tell me the details - for security reasons. There appears to be some flaw in this process. I asked the mgr if he minded going to see one of the home techies and getting it whispered in his ear, but not sure how he will communicate it out here.

Checked out the gym today. As expected they have to give me a fitness test, at which, of course, I will protest my former health and vigour and blame everything on Indian food and the heat. Apparently I will also be assigned a personal trainer who will accompany me every time I attend. I can see some problems with this - I like to do my own thing, and the only aerobic exercise machine I like is the cycling machine. And I'm likely to batter hell out of it for some time (whilst watching IPL or some other sport), and there will be pools of sweat - and I don't want a wallah wiping it up for me. But they might be useful on the weights cos I'm rubbish at them.

I had a short swim in the pool but there were a load of kids that made doing lengths difficult (see, there is a typical weights excuse - I can't carry on cos ......). I need real objectives to challenge me - I'm thinking of hiring a bike but I think I'll be stopping to buy water every 5 mins (there's another excuse). Its gotta happen soon. I'm gonna have to get on another one of those fortune telling machines again soon.

Special note to Clem - tomatoes are 15p a kilo (food mention for the day)

Listening to: Read about Seymour - Swell Maps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.