In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Storyteller Series - #10 Upper Skirt (close-up)

... continuing our visual tour....

Some of the upper skirt designs blend into the bodice, so you will recognize some of those tiles.  As I walk around the Storyteller, I see different styles of design and color.  Some remind me of the Pennsylvania Dutch florals, some are pure geometry, some seem like the Ying/Yang circle, as well as many others that you will notice. Some of the patterns seem more masculine in that they are Bold and geometric and others seem more feminine in that they have more delicate curving lines and flowers.
I was wondering the other day if some of the early American patchwork quilts were as vivid as this display.

I found a site on the web that has a photo of what I would call an  "original traditional" looking storyteller doll.  There used to be many more photos of the type I was looking to locate, but this was as close as I could get.  I have to see if any of my old books have a picture that I can blip. Click here to see the doll on page two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.