No Domestic Goddess...

By NotNigella

A cookin' mama day...

While wee C has been playing Cookin' Mama on the DS, I have been one in real life, cooking up a couple of huge batches of Bolognaise and Savoury Mince (just minced beef with veggies in a beef gravy, but my dad used to always call it 'savoury mince' to make it sound more exotic I think!) to freeze in child-friendly portions. Makes life a lot easier mid-week when I really can't be bothered making an effort in the kitchen!

We also had a few black-spotted too-ripe bananas in the fruit-bowl that were no good for anything except turning into these delicious banana & cinnamon muffins. The kids weren't too fussed though, which isn't really good for my waistline - I've already eaten four... Oops!

Meanwhile husband has been preparing wee D's room for painting - clearing out the room and sanding down the rough bits on the walls. Finally got round to opening the only can of paint he managed to get the other day and started painting one wall. 'I hope it dries lighter than it looks just now!' I said as he was rollering it on. Then checked the printed label on the can to discover it's 2 shades darker than requested... Oh dear. So it's all stop on the painting front just now. Wee D's cot is all set up in wee C's room now though, and they're very excited about sharing till the decorating is finished - cue a sleepless night tonight no doubt. And a few more after that... I'll be going back to work tomorrow for a rest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.