Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Palms by the river

I traveled light today, just the Leica D-Lux 3. I needed to visit the shops at Five Points, which is further away than my usual daily walk. I also knew I would be carrying something back, a wedding anniversary present, and did not want to be too encumbered, especially as the temperature was due to hit 81 degrees.

It was nice having access to a wide-angle capability. I love my Canon 40D to bits but the 1.6 crop factor is somewhat limiting when a 28mm lens effectively becomes a 45mm lens. Not that I can afford a 28mm lens.

One day, when I am rich and famous, I will buy myself a full-frame Canon 5DMkII and at least two wide-angle Zeiss lenses. So, in reality, it looks as if I am stuck with the Canon 40D for the foreseeable future. :-)

On the way back home, I abandoned the streets in favor of walking by the St Johns River, thanks to the public access granted by St Vincent's Hospital. As this curve in the path, bounded by the palm trees, loomed into view, I recognized its photographic potential and I think the D-Lux 3 did it justice, with a little help from the B&W conversion in Photoshop CS3.

Thanks to all those who commented on yesterday's submission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.