Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

War of the Worlds

Another beautiful day in Jacksonville. Walking along James Street, in Riverside, the air was suddenly pierced by a mocking bird in full song.

When I first moved to America, the mocking bird instantly became my favourite bird. It's not much to look at in terms of plumage but it can certainly sing. I can think of only one bird whose singing ability surpasses it, the British blackbird and only by a feather.

Hearing the mocking bird, I looked up to try and locate it. In the process I was struck by the spars of the electricity pole and the street lamp. The angle of the lamp, eerily staring down at me, put me in mind of The War of the Worlds, the 1953 version.

No I didn't see it at the cinema that year. I may be old but not that old. :-) In fact, the film (movie) was released a couple of months after I was born. Yes, 1953 was indeed a classic year. :-)

In the course, of getting the focus right, I spotted the mocking bird perched on one of the insulators. If you look closely, you can just make it out.

So this shot is entirely due to the mocking bird's mid-morning recital.

Many thanks for the comments on yesterday's photograph.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.