Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Alba gu brath!

This is a 'chalk and cheese' image compared to yesterday's.

I had a wonderful lesson in Strathpeffer with my harp teacher, and the best player in the land - Alison Kinnaird. (Alison is also a world class glass engraver, so I hope you like her work in the link).

Anyway, I decided afterwards to go into Inverness rather than do a quick shop in Dingwall. I couldn't believe the traffic - it took a half hour to get across the Kessock Bridge. As I approached (slowly) the roundabout into town, the reason became clear - RUNRIG!

I instantly smiled, and forgot the inconvenience of the slow-moving traffic.

I have been a Runrig fan for many years, and have been lucky enough to meet members of the band at various times; they have also been kind enough to come into school and talk to the kids. I wrote a letter to Calum MacDonald, one of their songwriters, and asked permission for my choir to sing "An Ubhal As Airde" (The Highest Apple) in a concert. He sent me back a lovely letter saying that I could use any of his songs anytime, and that it was an honour for him. Can you imagine how I felt reading this?

So, it is good to see them sell out still, and although I don't feel quite up to standing in a field in the rain anymore, I am so chuffed that they are still pounding the beat for Scotland and the Gaelic. (Although they sing in English as well, by the way)

Listen to them, blippers! I am sitting with a wee glass of something at the moment, and listening to....... well, who else?

Mar dhealbh a' tighinn beo tro na sgothan
'S mi a' tilleadh gu tir


The homeland appears like a developing photograph
Through the mists as I return to land. From "Alba" (Scotland)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.