Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Beam me up, George!

When I saw this, it reminded me of the movie 'Cocoon', which I haven't seen for years. This boat was out in the Minch, and the beams of light just hit it, making it look as if it had either been beamed down, or was about to be beamed up.

The idea that when you're old, you can beam to another planet (with your loved ones, of course - at least, those still around...), and become well, fit, and full of life again, is not unattractive.

With the hacking cough, the sore knees, and the constant weight problem, it gives us local spinsters something to fantasise about.

Good God, what happened to the fantasy of the millionaire falling instantly in love with me, and whisking me off my feet? Oh, and he looks like George Clooney.

I was talking with friends, and reminiscing about the days when you used to go to parties and talk about who was fanciable. Now, we talk about early retirement and pension plans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.