Mrok's photo of the day

By Mrok

From Mingus to Opeth

Some of my friends just keep telling me that vinyl is already a dead format when thinking of storage media for music and the playback. Even if I have good quality modern digital system with possibilities to use Spotify or play FLACs via wlan, da-converter and my stereos and it is working fine, I still disagree.

I have quite nice collection of LP's with all kinds of music from classical to jazz and to folk and rock. Have even good collection of progressive modern metal. I buy new (new to me) albums all the time from ebay, 2nd hand stores and record stores and also listen those daily. Several of my LP's has survived already decades and they still sound fine. There are naturally some marks of use or even some bad crackles, they are not perfect you know. But hey, that's life.

I think that vinyl has some values that many modern and technically better storage medias have lost during they aim to perfection. In vinyl there is certain taste of life that is hard to explain to people that have never experienced it. If you have not yet tasted it, perhaps would be a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.