Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Uisge-beatha

It was the first day of Foodies at the festival today so you'll have to forgive me if I don't make much sense.

After all I am slightly inebrya...
slightly inibr....
slightly ineeb...

A wee bit pished (where's the strike though tag when you need it).

Actually I'm not too bad I've had a chance to sober up, but there was a lot of food and drink to sample and, if I'm honest, I sampled more drink than food. There were about 6 or 7 real ales to try, 4 different brands of single malt whisky, and that was before you took different years into account, a Martin Millers Gin stand, a Herrljunga cider stall doing Pear and Apple ciders a stand doing seville orange gin, and numerous nice wines to try. On top of all this there were tasting masterclasses. I only managed to make it to two of those. there was a gin one where we had 5 reasonable sized measures of different gins to try and a Glengoyne Whisky one where we tried the 4 different malts above then got a rather generous top up of the 21 year old at the end if we fancied it. Of the Glengoynes I think the 17 year old was my favourite and of the gins it was between Millers and Hendricks.

There was loads of fantastic food there too. the only things we ended up buying were a large box of truffles from Cocoa Mountain and a bottle of Millers Gin, whic was cheaper than it would be in the shops.

the tickets let us back in tomorrow too so I'm tempted to go back although I think I'd spurn the tasting masterclasses in favour of the chef's theatre this time. Martin Wishart is doing a workshop tomorrow which could be worth catching.

I'll probably not feel up for drinking tomorrow any way. I suspect I'll need a berocca before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.