Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Metalwork

Had this been an ordinary blip day, I would have blipped a rather jolly picture of the underside of the lawnmower that I took this morning. However, since today marks my 100th blip, I wanted something that was (a) 100 related and (b) a bit special.

So here is my 100, spelled out in metal for you. A nail from the toolbox, my wedding ring, my engagement ring.

The nail may not seem an obvious thing to go with my rings, but it's kept in the toolbox that the Wonderspouse lovingly bought me several years ago, knowing that that was exactly what I wanted.

My rings are, naturally, special, even though I never wore rings on a regular basis before I had them. However, when I'm out in the world on my own and things get frightening or difficult, I can feel them there and know that there is a person who loves me more than anyone else and it gives me courage.

They are not particularly posh or expensive rings, but they were exactly the ones I wanted - a ruby (my birthstone, and red, possibly my favourite colour) flanked by 2 diamonds for the engagement ring, and 18 carat gold for the wedding ring.

Thank you Wonderspouse, both for knowing me well enough to get me the things that I actually want, and for propping me up over the last 100 days.

The fact that I have got to 100 blips is 100% down to the Wonderspouse (check February 4th if you are in any doubt). The fact that I still walk this Earth at all is down to him and his constant persistent love. I cannot begin to count the number of tears he has mopped up over the last few months, nor the number of times he has coped with such an exceptionally difficult wife.

All too often I think of the ways I have been unlucky in life, but in this particular respect I am the luckiest girl in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.