Gifts of Grace

By grace

Pied Wagtail

Day one of the Sit Spot Challenge - details here and also forum thread here..

My plan is to sit on the seawall at the end of my garden for a minimum of twenty minutes each day for the next month. I have long had the notion of watching the sunrise from there in the summer months. It will be a miracle if I do manage to do that as I'm much more of an owl than a lark (so I take vicarious pleasure in Kath Gordon and Sunflower's sunrise blips).

Today the challenge was getting to sit down at all. All day I was finding things to do in avoidance of a small piece of writing I HAVE to get done for Monday. That meant I put off 'sitting' too - until just before sunset at 7.15 this evening. Actually a glorious evening at the end of our first really warm day.

I found it SO hard to sit still! Things to do, things to do, the garden rife with spring tasks begging for attention. But sit I did, taken by the birdsong, sea and a spectacular sky. Having the camera really helped me stay put. Spoiled for choice for blips 'though.

In the end this little chap won out for his song and his jaunty hunt for insects in the mass of seaweed and debris left by last week's strong winds. I've seen him often, didn't know his name till today. No accident I chose one of the busiest creatures in sight - I hope I may learn to sit. Watch this space or, better still, watch your own and blip it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.