Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

I Forge My Own Path

Today, I visited the supermarket at our home town of Manningtree with my two daughters. As soon as we had finished shopping, daughter 2 (at the tender age of three) was demanding we go across the bridge to walk along the path next to the river. I knew this was to happen of course and on such a fine April day, keen to take the opportunity to photograph the river for today's blip.

As it turns out, I'm disappointed with the results - uninspiring shots I'd managed to catch. We were pushed for time as the wind running along the river was cold, making the girls restless. We headed off towards the railway line and were lucky enough to catch sight of a train. "Daddy, there's a train! Daddy, there's a train! Daddy, I saw a train!"

On our way back to the car park, I took a few macro shots of some pretty white and blue flowers, (sadly the white centres were overexposed - having a bad photo day). I turned to start our return walk to find our fiercely independent three-year-old becoming a mere speck in the distance, headed for the bridge to the car park, forging her own path.

Single-minded in her determination to decide for herself and at the same time eager to ape children of an older age, the complexity of being three is considerable. For this reason, the quality of the light and my daughter's determination, this is the image which has inspired me the most today. I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.