Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

That tastes good

Baby U, age 6 weeks, after her late evening nurse. My older friends here will know their story. We shared 3 months with this precious family in intensive care at Children's when our boys were room mates. I know Angel Baby C will be looking down at his old friend Reuben who came to visit and I hope he found time today from playing with his angel baby friends to remark how funny it is that his little baby sister, "Baby U", is so utterly enjoying Mama's milk! Mmm, mmm.

I'm so looking forward to processing all these many pics which I wanted to do as a meaningful birth gift for the family in the form of a book. I did a "Catherine" I'm afraid with the shutter. But this SOOC was one of the first I saw in what was dim evening light when I really started going to town and I thought, no matter, you don't get much better than this, licking up the spilt mama's milk. I'll probably edit the colours and such later. I really had a total afternoon off from looking after the boys during our visit so I could focus on capturing these candid precious moments in the most natural way possible. I know this is my intrinsically my style: photojournalistic. And somehow in the midst of this they managed to cook up an absolute feast of a meal for us. The champagne tasted very good with mahi and ahi! A handful more of Baby U.

Thanks everyone for all your support. I know it's a wee bit too heavy for a photojournal, but I always try to be honest. Our journals, after all, are really just for us at the end of the day.

Technical note: lighting above daddy was fluorescent, and I think you can break the rules and do this overhead lighting with male photographic portraiture in order to create grandiose scale through light and shadow, but it wouldn't work for women where you'd want a softer, more flattering effect. All pics SOOC with California natural light through the window, lamp or fluorescent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.