Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Waimakariri River & the Torlesse Range

It was a glorious warm, sunny day. I spent the morning at the local Volunteer Fire Brigade fundraiser, an exhibition of aircraft and vehicles.

The best part was taking a short scenic flight on the last airworthy DC3! These were the planes I flew in when I was a child and young adult. This particular plane was built in Longbeach, California in 1944, and was used by Australian forces in the Philippines during WW2. The flight was very exciting and it was wonderful to see my home district at a low altitude. It is more beautiful than I imagined.

I have often shown you bits of the Waimakariri River, but in this photo you can see what it is really like.

There were a lot of vintage and classic cars there. The organisers invited anyone with an interesting car or other vehicle to bring it along. The lovely day brought out scores of them. I was amazed and delighted to see the very car my husband owned for 25 years. I loved that car and was thrilled when the owner let me sit in it to stroke the steering wheel, and the choke and starter knobs. Such nostalgia.

In this collage you can see a Model T Ford ( the green car beyond it is a 1900 Cadillac), the Harvard pilot doing his preflight check, the nose of the DC3, and a helicopter dropping in. There are more shots in my Blipfolio, including a Hog.

Best seen in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.