random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Dustbin lady

Look - Go - Marigold
Arrived hotel in Bangalore to find the guy on checkin is to busy to check me in, because he is having a heated conversation about me, which my presence does not curtail. Since the IPL is in progress and I am desperate to get out to a bar and watch it I walk away to the bar in the hotel. He comes to find me shortly.
I had made my own way from the airport as instructed by my booker in email. He did forward a confirmation that suggested a car would be sent but since he is a good chap I assumed he had canned it. Besides which, if I had thought about it and been aware of the facts, I could have told the hotel representative that he should understand that a journey that costs 170/- by bus, 1200/- if you get grabbed in the terminal or 600/- if you go to the taxi stand should not cost 1350/- if the hotel sends a car.
Caught a Rick to the bar area - the usual story, hail one outside the hotel, yes sir, 5 mins later stopping to ask where the location you require is from other riskshaw drivers!! Made him drive along the street to a pub with IPL, which confused him, the cricket ground is up the road sir. And then the place he tells me will definitely have beer and cricket definintely doesn't but I find a very English pub.
There are women drinking beer - the first time I have seen Indian women drinking. At closing time (23:30) I decide to scan the other bars for tomorrow so walk a different way back. On the way I see stagger drunk men - another first, and women as well - this is a different India.
I am approached by a rickshaw driver and he asks for silly money - actually not silly money UK wise for the distance, and not silly money if you were drunk, or did not know where you are going.

I assume I can find my way, even though I don't know where i am cos if I walk in one direction I must intersect the path the rickshaw and the airport taxi took. It works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.