diaspora

By diaspora

Spotmatic

A while back I mentioned I won a ebay bid for a Pentax Spotmatic camera. Well, it arrived today, as did the lens adapter to allow me to use its vintage Super-Takumar (F1.4 50mm) lens on my Panasonic GF1: this shot was taken with the vintage lens on the GF1.

This version of the camera - usually branded Asahi Pentax - is an American import branded Honeywell Pentax, but it's the same camera, with same remarkable optics in the lens. So, I spent a lot of today playing with the lens and being amazed with the results. For those of us who like low light and/or narrow dof shots the lens is truly remarkable. There's something about using a vintage manual focus lens on a modern digital camera body that is really pleasing. But I fully intend to get some film for that Spotmatic body too.

Many, many thanks for all of your kind comments on blip 100 and for encouraging my continuing efforts to capture light (although as you can see from today's entry...you may have created a monster).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.