Fancy

I was stopped in the street again, by someone keen to know why I take pictures with a camera. He caught me photographing a huge pile of rubbish (not difficult in Maadi) and followed me for a good ten minutes until he plucked up the courage to confront me about what I was doing.

It transpired he was a journalist who thought I was a fellow journalist taking pictures of the rubbish in order to talk unflatteringly about Egypt in my newspaper. It was quite interesting to listen to him talk about his love for his country and how it upsets him when foreigners are exposed to the truth about the noise and mess. As he put it 'we don't want people to see the real Egypt, only the beautiful Egypt'.

Poor guy, I thought, as he thanked me for listening before going his separate way*. It must be really disheartening to see your country go down the tubes. It made me think that that perhaps I should lie to you all about how lovely this place is.

Then a car beeped at me.

For the thousandth time today.

If you ever happen to hear on the news a story about a Scottish expatriate who went on a violent killing spree in Egypt due to excess irritation caused by blaring car horns, it'll most likely be me they're talking about.

Talking of excess irritation:

---> Video - Reciprocated Guff



*Out of respect for the gentleman, I have decided to blip this tacky lovely street lamp instead of the less flattering alternatives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.