dark|adapted

By dark

Mystery Guest's +1



It's Sunday, so it must be Spider Day.

Went round this morning to check on Hannibelle - a Golden Silk Orb Weaver, as we discovered last week. Common in Florida, but fairly uncommon this far inland.

Anyway, no birds or bats in the rather large web - lots of moths - but I had a closer look and discovered Clarence here - I'm assuming he's the male. Apperently, there's usually a male somewhere in the web, hanging perpendicular so he can keep an eye on the much larger female.

A bit of perspective on the sizes: She was about 3/4 the size of my hand. He, however, was only the size of my thumbnail.

Which explains, I guess, why he's a bit skittish - I only got to take a couple of shots before he skittered off and disappeared into the shadows.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.