dark|adapted

By dark

Street Noise



A bit late to the party, but I enjoyed Chaos's ruminations a couple of days ago on the aesthetics of digital noise, and its artistic possibilities. Scintilla responded with a shot achieving a similar look in a completely different way, as did My Angle (not sure if that one was a response or just coincidence).

At any rate, one of the things I love about Blipfoto is how someone can toss a pebble into the pool and cause all kinds of creative ripples and echoes across other pages.

This, then, would be my ripple. The grain is done in-camera (the Chaos method), rather than in post, but obviously with some contrast & levels adjustments on the back end.

I don't like digital noise, generally, and usually find myself cursing its very existence. But I do find that my newer camera - the little Canon SD800 - although much noisier than I would have expected, even at low ISO's - does seem to produce noise that's a bit less annoying (especially in B&W) than the older 300D. With the right coloring, it reminds me a bit of the look of the film photographers like Stieglitz were using at the turn of the century.

Anyway, I'm typing too much and I need to sleep.

Ripple fading away into the distance....



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.