Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

One Careful Owner

I saw this Triumph Spitfire Mk III yesterday parked behind a house. I only really looked at the back of the vehicle and the shot I took proved unsatisfactory. Today, I ventured a little closer and saw the inside of the car or what is left of it.

To me, it only seems a few years ago when the Triumph Spitfire became available to British motorists. Doing some research revealed that the Mk III version was produced from 1967-70.

This particular model dates from at least 1969 when models for the US market had to comply with new safety/emission regulations and is referred to as a "federal" Spitfire. Another change introduced at this time moved the instrument panel in front of the driver.

So my car from just a few years back turns out to be 40 years old and I find that somewhat frightening.

It's the same with a lot of my old LPs, or should I say the CD versions, which I still think in terms of being current but, in fact, date from 40 years ago.

Ah, the joys of getting old.

It was also sad to see this fine British car in such a state of neglect and left out to rot. Perhaps a Triumph enthusiast may relish the prospect of a restoration project.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.