This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

strange steps

My mornings seem to be on a loop; always consistent, darkness of an early hour, singing birds, a cool breeze.

Yesterday, I spent most of my day in the studio again, and again not painting. I enjoyed taking all my receipts for taxes to my studio and sorting them on my work table, while drinking water and listening to great music. It took 44 minutes to get them sorted. I am always amazed at how many receipts I am able to keep up with, and I always wonder how many fell through the cracks. Several piles of thin crackling paper form; shipping supplies and postage, art supplies, studio supplies, studio rent, museum admission fees. Lists of paintings sold from galleries, over facebook via paypal, and small works on Etsy.

At 1:00 I have a meeting with the executive director and a fellow studio mate from the Underground. We talk about the general business and operation. Things are running more smoothly every month. The meeting still lasts two hours. When they leave my studio at 3, I am hungry but the falafel place has already closed for the day- so I snack on carrots and apricots. An orange meal- my favorite color.

When things seem too mundane or monotonous I remind myself of Saturday and my nine sales. I turn down two invitations for drinks. Work on taxes some more, reconstruct travel to galleries, fill in the gaps. Listen to music. Vegan pizza for dinner. Eyes so tired. I Sleep

Today is Wednesday, caught in the loop...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.