A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

It's Oxford blip, but not as we know it

Today was a day of getting up, dressed and out of the house like a real working person. Unfortunately, due to the ongoing boiler saga it also meant going next door in my dressing gown with a towel like a person on holiday on a campsite. I really couldn't be bothered to get pre-dressed and I think (hope) I got away with it unspotted.

Busy commuter tube to Paddington followed by busy commuter train to Oxford and I arrived at my meeting just about on time. Meeting can only be described as good enough - probably could've gone better, definitely could have been a lot worse.

Had a small amount if time afterwards before train home so went for a wander. It's a long time since I've been to Oxford but I gave been a few times and thought I had a reasonable mental picture of it. I don't. Or more precisely, I possibly do of a very small part of it and it wasn't the part I was in or near. I have clearly been spoiled in all my previous visits and today the not-so-pretty side of Oxford was all that was at hand. I guess all towns and cities have one, or have to have one. And thinking about all the cities I know it can be found near the station. Which was where I was.

So here you have a spire, albeit not particularly dreamy. Will be back in a fortnight (and every fortnight for a few months in fact) so will do my homework and see if I can rediscover the prettier bits.

In other news my body is going its usual trick of taking on my stress for me. Its kind that way. Only time will tell whether the itchy, red lumps which have appeared on my shoulder and upper arm are because of starting with a new client today or the play next week. I can only hope it's the former but have a suspicion it's the latter. Oh well, saves my brain a job.

Enough rambling I have a train journey's worth of reading of my book club book to sink into.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.