A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Legal Exemption

These little fellas have been sitting in a drawer in my house for far too long. Often I forget all about them. Then I remember and worry about them being there and worry what I'm supposed to do about them. They're flick-knives, in case you're wondering.

Longish story but they are props leftover from a play my theatre group produced many moons ago. The person who borrowed them and was supposed to return them to their rightful place didn't. They then got left in our storage facility which is under the stage in a church hall which is used by many different groups. When I found them one day whilst having a clear out I thought that this wasn't a good place for them as it is unsecured. So I took them home. And then didn't know what to do with them.

Today I decided to find out. I wandered into our local police station which was an interesting first for me as I have never been in a police station. It was also a little challenging as high on my list of biggest fears is being arrested for something I haven't done and not being able to prove my innocence. If you've read Kafka's The Trial, that's basically my fear in novel form. I fear the power of the system. Anyway, a very nice police chappie (I think that's what PC stands for) told me I could bring the knives to the station to be disposed of and, as long as I came directly there from home, I would have a legal exemption should I be found carrying them. So I did. Only a little nervously. Said knives are now safely (I presume) stored in Cupboard 89 until the morning when they will be dismantled and recycled. As what, I know not. And there was barely an eyebrow raised as to how they came into my possession. If only more troublemakers knew how good a cover an amateur theatre group can be. Or not.

Less interesting but productive day otherwise. One more call to make then off to stand outside a train station leafleting for the play, on to rehearsal then home before an early start to head off to Oxford tomorrow. Haven't been for ages and, although it's work, am feeling like it's an outing. Will be taking my camera for sure.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.