Lights by the pool

Today was a holiday. It was announced just a couple of days back. And I felt relaxed and lazy. Laziness is most enjoyable in context, but if it's allowed to set its own inertia, it leads one towards dullness. One runs the risk of becoming uninspired. I don't want it to reach that tipping point. Naive as it may sound, I think the company we keep has a role in preventing this from happening.

My new bicycle, the Cannondale F9 arrived today. It was delivered in the white midday heat by a mechanic who demonstrated its workings, dissassembling, etc in the most swift manner, handed me the basic tools... I rode it for 50 odd metres, before handing him the cheque payable to the company then and he left. This was effecient. No hassles at all! Instead of keeping it down under the staircase, I decided to bring it up. It is a pleasure carrying it up on one hand, it's so light!

Waited for the sun to calm down just a little bit before I went for my first ride. Everywhere around are wonderful wide roads, stretching vastly across all directions. There isn't a lot of traffic and one can ride for miles. But those challenging uphills from Hyderabad are absent. I will miss them until I find some here. The few additional gears on this bike are just incredible. At its fastest, the wind is whirring by your ears and though cars are faster, motorbikes aren't as much and other cycles on the road are almost at a standstill in comparison. I hope there are some rides over the weekend to look forward to. The ride has brought back a spring in my step.

Ideally, I should have taken a photo of it, but decided not to carry the camera today. But in the coming days I will. So, for now, this is the pool. Till recently, the water that filled it was murky but now sufficient treatment has been done for a few days and it's almost ready for us to jump in. Alas, I can't swim. I mean, if I think of it, there seems to be so few things I can actually do! But anyway, the pool isn't deep and I will try and learn if I can. Saw some spiky-haired teenagers kicking a football all around it, occasionally kicking the ball into the pool.

P.S. Both yesterday and today's photos were taken roughly at the same time of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.