New wheels and the day

The day hasn't ended. The evening has drawn its drapes over the sky. Little stars, like freckles on a cheek shine through. The rush of a thousand violins hums on my ears. If waves had a voice of their own, not the one from colliding with one another or with the shore, then it would be the one I hear now. I did not ride today. And something doesn't feel complete. We had a guest in the evening.

But it has been a stressful day. Our packers and movers, who are a reputed brand have taken more than twice the amount of time they promised. They speak politely, say they will return my calls but they never do. They assure me of the delivery on a particular date with much confidence and then I receive another date. In little ways we are paralyzed. I so desperately need a book, and after a long time, I need fiction. I also need by guitar. My fingertips are smoothening out. It is not a good sign.

The car arrived only today and due to utter miscommunication, they weren't able to reach me. We were expecting the remaining part of the consignment to arrive today as well, but received no clear reply when it will. All morning I was on call with them. I was helpless. Their assurances were vacant words. The uncertainty of it has become cause for much stress. I have to ensure I have the bills in proper order as well.

Finally made a choice today to go for a mountain biking trip next month. It has been a tough choice in some ways. I think I made it tough until now. But if I were to listen to my heart despite all odds, it was easy all along. Friends make them easy, because they understand. But now for the preparation part, mine will be hopelessly inadequate.

S and I took the cycle outside for a few rounds of our perimeter after dinner. We alternated between cycling, walking, jogging and occasionally running! There were races too and S doesn't like losing. So it had to be me. Talking of losing, I played my first table-tennis match last evening. It was uninspiring. My opponent was flashy but well, that's all about it. At this rate, I will lose my edge. In Hyderabad, we played with all our heart. We gave in everything we could. We never gave up. We overcame stiff odds. That's how the state of the mind was. It refused to give up. It refused to look at absolute scales, where relevance could have been lost. It just kept trying. The time for that will come again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.