random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Paan

Had a Rajastani Thali to celebrate a leaver at lunchtime. I managed to ask for "one" roti, pickle and chilli in Hindi - but the words have disappeared again. At the end the guy in the costume wanted me to do the tourist thing and don his turban - so I did. We were given a lovely little green leaf rolled with a cherry in the end and stuffed with something - it was very pleasant.

Outside one guy needed his fag so we stood at a stall, the local fag and pan stall cos that is what the stuff in the leaves is - dunno how it is spelt or what's in it but this photo is of the guy making it.

It is very hot out.

I told my mum I wasn't stressed the other week. Things have changed, my project is struggling because someone senior either didn't think of consequences or my dept (or even me) either didn't mention the risks or was not asked. Now we are struggling to deliver something. Add to that my buddy leaving and my support back home is draining rapidly - and I'm out on a limb. When I make a mistake - and it is inevitable that I will then I suspect I will be hung out to dry.

Time to make some alliances but all the people I am close to are either temporary or at similar risk to me, and its also difficult to do this from a distance.

This is a gangster song from an Indian film called Kaante and it is very funny. Give it a couple of plays and I bet you can't get it out of your head.

Off to kolkata tomorrow for a few days, see some IPL, follow Clive's footsteps, avoid any dark and dingy cavities. I'll see if I can find a fortress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.