Shadowplay in Suburbia

Cloudy and overcast and a bit chilly this morning as I walked to cardiac rehab. I couldn't help thinking, though, that we haven't done at all badly. We're on our eighth week of the course, and there's only been one morning when I had to take the car because the weather was too unpleasant for walking. That suggests a remarkably extended dry spell. Previously when it's been cloudy to begin, the weather improved as we did our exercises, but the cloud persisted to day until the middle of the day. By mid afternoon the bright sunshine and blue skies were back (still chilly, though), and by late evening the light show was pretty amazing.

I shot this on my way to the local shop around 7.30. Hard as it may be to believe, this is straight out of the camera without any processing. The light was amazing, the colours were intense, the shadows were brilliant. What an evening! I almost blipped Last Rays instead, but this won out because it captures the light more dramatically. (The version at Picasa doesn't look as well as it should. It's gone dull and flat and is lacking in shadow detail compared to what it should be.)

Anyway, it was good to be able to take a bit of a work break today after the recent pressure from the ex-boss. There are still jobs to be seen to and cleared up before I head off to Berlin on the 29th, but taking a break today didn't leave me feeling in the least bit guilty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.