Giacomo's

Shopping day in sunny Boston... I didn't want to love this dress that I tried on in Nanette Lepore. But oh, did I love it. It's so beautiful.
Trip to the Boston Public Library with my mom so we could see the Sargent Gallery. Unfortunately, it was just a room with his murals on the wall. I think we were both expecting something a little bit more magnificent.
Street photographer Jules Aaron's work was on display on the top floor of the library. He had some great shots in there. I envy the early street photography. Maybe I should just try it more. Especially with my mamiya which has the waist viewfinder... so I really will be able to shoot from the hip and people won't suspect that I'm capturing their essence on film.

Dinner at Giacomo's! We waited in line for two hours on the street. After the first hour, we sent Dad and Justin off to a wine store to buy dixie cups and some red wine to warm us up in the wind. The lady at the wine bottega said that there was a wonderful floral aroma from the Nebbiolo grapes -- uhh.. your wine tasted like mud... not like flowers. Nice try.
Apparently Giacomo's is a legend in Boston for Italian food. Otherwise, why would everyone wait?? We ordered a large caesar salad, garlic bread, calamari (superb), caprese insalata, butternut squash ravioli (it was okay), lobster ravioli (excellent), veal cavatelli, black pepper papardelle, linguini with mussels and clams, and eggplant parmigiana. Too. Much. Food.
There was a man in line ahead of us who was celebrating his 75th birthday and he wanted his family to take him to Giacomo's. As soon as we got a table, Justin bolted over to the wine shop to buy him a bottle of wine to celebrate. It was a really sweet moment. I love that my dad loves to do things like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.