Moments

By togrrrl

Sorry, Ms. Robin and other Bird Tales

Yesterday on my way to the subway I noticed a robin (American Robin) on a telephone wire with a beak full of muddy grass. I stopped to watch and it slipped into a cedar. Aha, I thought - there's its nest! And then I saw the fibers and grass coming out of the tree. (Duh)

So today, I stopped at the tree to see what was going on. I heard the robin tut, tut, tutting from a tree, raised my camera and out flew the female in alarm. Here she is!

I feel a little bad that I disturbed them and won't do it again tomorrow.

In other bird sightings...
- the cedar waxwings are coming back. I can hear their high pitched annoying call at the tops of trees around my house.

- the pigeons nesting on my ledge at work are not meant to win the struggle of natural selection. They have been sitting on an nest with no eggs in it for a month now. At least the male has been keeping guard for the past couple of days. Maybe this means there will be eggs at last!

- ghoulishly, baby pigeons keep falling to their deaths on the same ledge - I think they are new hatchlings or the remnants of eggs that rolled out of nests higher up on the building. I wonder why there are so many pigeons if this is the best they can do?

- on a more positive note, the sparrow that sang all season last year without finding a mate has finally got someone. They are busy in their nest and maybe they will figure out how to lay eggs.

Oh, I and I am behind on comments...and I'm tired...so tomorrow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.