This Too Will Vanish...

By etherghost

I'll take it

6:14 a.m. (note the average time upon waking)

Yesterday seems so far away. Studio time, no time spent painting, but rather accidently filling in for some studio mates that had to leave early or come late for various reasons. I opened the galleries early as well, as we had an influx of what I believe were remnants from some sort of conservative rally. Protestors were talking of tea and things, they aren't happy about having health care. I won't say anymore.

There was a falafel salad for lunch with studio mates, and some massive cups of decaf coffee much later. Oh yes, I remember now, I started the day with another migraine. Two in one week, but still not as bad as they once were, just more of a nuisance. I got to retell my sale story to another artist I hadn't yet seen in person. They are asking to hear it, I wouldn't go around just telling it. Most still seem very excited for me and for our studios in general. This has been one of our best months ever, and after dealing with the recession, "the end times" or whatever you want to call it- we are all relieved to feel some hope.

Around 6pm or so I walked into the sun- a beautiful walk on the back beat. There were groceries purchased, soy meat tacos made, and a cheesy film to watch, and then a blog to write. I was asleep by midnight. I woke once at 2:00 am, but stayed in bed, and here I am awake at a respectable hour, and probably with my sleep schedule back on some sort of track.

Oh, yes.. I am forgetting a choice piece of news- and not on purpose for dramatic effect. Yesterday, while watching the galleries an email came in that that three of my photographs had been accepted into a juried exhibition entitled Crafting Place: from the Kitchen to the Forest. The Juror was Kenneth Trapp former curator-in charge of the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum. The exhibition will be held next month at the Sugar gallery in a neighboring town. I am excited to share three of my photographs from my Picher, Oklahoma series. You all have seen these photographs, and it was probably partially your response that encouraged me to enter them in this exhibition. As, you know I am a painter, so to enter photographs into a juried exhibition is a new thing for me. Thanks again for your encouragement.

The leaves from the trees have mostly unfolded now, they droop a bit until fully flattened out, they are that fresh green but already darker than the first days of spring. Today, I will finish a painting at the studio, listen to music, and remember to drink copious amounts of water, (I am already starting to forget).

April, you are alright...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.