this luminous life.

By Laura

Apologies for the poor quality photo.

I was sitting in bed watching Dexter (after reading a book on serial killers throughout the day, too) when I heard a couple loud thumping and cracking noises. I grabbed my flashlight (it was storming, and I was afraid the lights would go out), anticipating a burglar or something like that. A few more loud cracks and thumps came in rapid succession and I could not figure out if it was someone banging on the wall or running through the house. Plus it was coming from upstairs. I'm also a bit suspicious that there's a presence in the house so basically, I was spooked out of my wits.

When the noise grew louder and definitely was coming from upstairs, I ran out of my bedroom to the front door, fearing that the roof was going to crash down onto me. I opened the front door and saw... hail. Large, 2" balls of hail coming down in sheets. I'd never seen anything like it before! Relieved, I laughed a little bit at myself for being so scared even though I was still trembling terribly. The combination of being alone in an empty old house near a cemetery, reading and watching about serial killers, not being able to hear, etc. all contributed. I watched the rest of the hailstorm for a couple minutes until it came to a complete stop and marveled at the size of the hail. Pretty cool! The side of the garage was damaged, though.

__________
a year ago: drops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.