Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The butterfly catcher

Today was a hugely busy day with the boys. Breakfast at Ihop with our night nurse (I've stopped day nursing which feels glorious for so many reasons, not least the frustration of constantly training new nurses in trach and feeding tube care), followed by the playground and running after the boys, the garden centre to buy lavender with the boys sitting in the cart and Reuben pulling off all the lavender flowers and Radio Flyer Wagon rides to the Spring Blooms corner of our street.

At the risk of driving myself insane, I've decided I need help on choosing today's Blip from the slideshow set, with thanks!. The butterfly catcher title is explained a little better there: I'm not sure though if you're really supposed to catch butterflies in them but I thought they'd be sweet for the party.

The photos I've been taking of late in the wildflowers and ice plants that spring up on the vacant corner lot have, along with his fable themed bedroom, inspired me to do an enchantment theme for Reuben's birthday. I know it has a feminine air, even though I hope to see lots of knights, dragons and princes, but I believe with 2 boys, my life will all too soon be overtaken by Star Wars and superheroes. Til then, this is the last bastion of femininity the boys will be surrounded by, a little enchanted garden and my last little stand for doing something with a touch of pink.

And since some of us are fashionably enjoying doing series Blips (Chair, Crow, Dandelion etc), this is the next in my Spring Bloom series. Gosh, can you imagine how upset I'm going to be when this all fades to grey as the intensity of the summer sun falls upon us, the land reclaimed to the desert like state from which it was born.

I hadn't used any heavyweight editing software til March and I'm nearing the end of various trials, but I've thankfully played around and learnt a great deal in the process. Can't be doing with books or tutorials as an intrapersonal learner. It's ironic because I think embedded somewhere in my About page is the mention of loving SOOC epiphanies since I was a film SLR user for 2 decades. Ah well, even die hards can change.

Night night world...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.