Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Milo's 3rd birthday

So enjoyed our great family friend's son Milo's birthday in the park in Pasadena and this of little Miss S steals my heart. For years of mostly far flung travels to the Third World, I would focus on architecture, landscape and those I would respectfully ask to photograph, but I finally feel I've found my true love in art and this is it: photographic portraiture. Pasadena is the most delightful city in the foothills of the San Gabriel resplendent with natural scenic beauty, a vibrant culture and a flourishing learning environment.

The pics of Vanessa and her Dad: he's shortly due to make the long journey back home to Cheshire from LA and he asked me to capture them both together. I think I caught just an essence of the love between them. It's particularly heartbreaking given their tragic recent loss and so I hope they'll find comfort in these as the miles between them grow physically, yet their distance in their hearts is never more than a breathe away. Isn't that what photography helps us do: hold onto the most precious moments in a tangible way?

Thanks everyone for yesterday's kind enthusiasm.

Technical note: I'm going to upload to my website for our friends once I've gone through them, but here's one for my Blip for now. This is cropped, very unusual for me as I like to frame with the lens but I didn't feel a little detail of the blanket to the left was necessary and otherwise colours as they came with a little dash of clarity added.
Large if interested on my website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.