Gable Erratic

By MsGable

HOOPOE HUSTLE

After yesterday's activity, today was supposed to be an R&R at home. But no.

Reports of a Hoopoe at Heysham sent us off up the A65 again. I didn't have to go, but I have only seen a Hoopoe once, and as you can see it is a stunning bird. It shouldn't be here at the moment, rather in the south of France and Spain, but this one has ended up on the north west coast. Perhaps because the sky is so empty of larger flying machines!

At first the bird was quite distant at the harbour but it then flew to the nature reserve across the water. My photos were not brilliant as they were handheld digiscoped, but I was chuffed when the renowned man who runs the bird observatory asked me for a copy for his records.

In all, a good day. Hope yours was too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.